By Locality

Some kinds of business localities have special requirements, licenses and practices that are unique to that area. The SBDC has specialized information and resources focused on local counties, town and city requirements.

City of Winchester

Useful Resources

Key Contacts

  • Downtown Manager: Jennifer Bell (540) 535-3660
  • Economic Development: Shirley Dodson (540) 667-1815 Email: shirley.dodson@winchesterva.gov
  • Planning Director: Tim Youmans (540) 667-1815 Zoning & Inspections

Clarke County

Resources

Key Contacts

Culpeper County

2017 CULPEPER BIZ Registration Guide Entire

Extra Resources

Key Contacts

  • Bob Orr, Building Official, Building Department, 302 North Main Street, Culpeper, Virginia 22701, 1-540-727-3405
  • Carl Sachs, Director Economic Development, 803 S. Main Street
Culpeper, VA 22701, 1.800.793.0631, 1.540.727.3410, csachs@culpepercounty.gov
  • Denise Whetzel, Chief Deputy, 151 N Main St, Suite 201, Culpeper VA  22701, (540) 727-3443 (phone)
  • Sam McLearan, Director, Department of Development, 302 North Main Street, Culpeper, VA 22701, (540-727-3404)
  • John Egertson, Culpeper County Administrator, 302 North Main Street, Culpeper, VA 22701, (540-727-3427), jegertson@culpepercounty.gov
  • David DeJarnette, County Treasurer, 151 North Main Street, Culpeper, VA 22701, (540)-727-3442

Town of Culpeper Contacts

  • Bob Orr, Building Official, Building Department, 302 North Main Street, Culpeper, Virginia 22701
  • Town of Culpeper Website: https://www.culpeperva.gov/
  • Town of Culpeper Business Link: https://www.culpeperva.gov/Business
  • Chris Hively, Town Manager 400 South Main Street (540)-829-8250
  • Charles Rapp, Director of Planning and Community Development 400 South Main Street, Ste. 301 Culpeper, VA 22701 (540) 829-8260
  • Paige Read, Director of Tourism and Economic Development Email: pread@culpeperva.gov 111 South Commerce Street Culpeper, VA 22701 (540)-727-0611 Website: http://visitculpeperva.com/default.aspx
  • Kim Allen, Town Clerk 400 South Main Street, Ste. 105 Culpeper, VA 22701 (540)-829-8240
    Jennifer Landreth, Interim Treasurer/ Director of Finance 400 South Main Street, Ste. 109 Culpeper, VA 22701 (540)-829-8220

Other Culpeper Contacts

Fauquier County

Resources:

Key Contacts

Miles Friedman 
Fauquier County, Director of Economic Development  
(540) 422-8270

Beverly Pullen 
Business Coordinator  
(540) 422-8270

Carlene Hurdle  
Workforce Coordinator  
(540) 351-1045

Catherine Payne 
Tourism Coordinator  
(540) 422-8270

Heather Stinson
Town of Warrenton, Town Economic Development Manager  
(540) 422-8270

Business Incubators

Fauquier Enterprise Centers – Marshall & Vint Hill
Jennifer Goldman
http://www.fauquierbusiness.com/fauquier-enterprise-center/
(540) 422-8270

George Mason Enterprise Center – Downtown Warrenton
Renee Younes
ryounes@gmu.edu
http://www.masonenterprisecenter.org/
540.216.7100

Frederick County

Useful Resources

Key Contacts

Patrick Barker
Economic Development Director
pbarker@yesfrederickva.com (
540) 665-0973

Bev Rosato
Administrator of Business Division
540-722-8336

Heidi Largent 
Account Clerk – Business License
540-722-8329

Shenandoah County

Useful Links

Key Contacts

Industrial Development Authority of Shenandoah County – Bradley Polk
Director of Community Development
bpolk@shenandoahcountyva.us
540-459-6191

Strasburg

Key Contacts

Economic Development Town of Strasburg – Wyatt Pearson
Planning and Zoning Administrator
wpearson@strasburgva.com
540-465-9197

Strasburg Economic Development & Marketing – Michelle Bixler
mbixler@strasburgva.com
540-465-9197

Warren County

Useful Links

Key Contacts

Warren County Business Licenses – Deanna Heishman
540-635-2651 ext. 200

Warren County Economic Development Executive Director – Jennifer R. McDonald
mcdonald@wceda.com
540.635.2182

Warren County Economic Development Director of Marketing & Business Development – Marla Taylor Jones
jones@wceda.com

Warrenton

Resources

Key Contacts

Heather Stinson, Economic Development Manager
35 Culpeper Street Warrenton, Virginia  20186
Phone:  (540) 422-8275
Email:  hstinson@warrentonva.gov

 

Woodstock

Useful Resources

Business License Town of Woodstock:  http://www.townofwoodstockva.com/index.aspx?NID=316

Sign Permits:  http://www.townofwoodstockva.com/index.aspx?NID=341

Starting a business:  http://www.townofwoodstockva.com/DocumentCenter/Home/View/458

Taxes:  http://www.townofwoodstockva.com/index.aspx?NID=315

Zoning:  http://www.townofwoodstockva.com/index.aspx?NID=341

Key Contacts

Woodstock Enhancement Coordinator – Katie Mercer
katie.mercer@townofwoodstockva.gov
540-459-3621

Woodstock Urban Designer & Neighborhood Planner: Lemuel Hancock
lemuel.hancock@townofwoodstockva.gov
540-459-3621